Bared to You by Sylvia Day

14622979

Title: Bared to You

Series: Crossfire #1

Author: Sylvia Day

Publisher: Penguin UK

Release Date: May 28th 2012

Pages: 341

Genre: Romance, Erotica

Rating: 3 out of 5

Blurb: Our journey began in fire…

Gideon Cross came into my life like lightning in the darkness—beautiful and brilliant, jagged and white-hot. I was drawn to him as I’d never been to anything or anyone in my life. I craved his touch like a drug, even knowing it would weaken me. I was flawed and damaged, and he opened those cracks in me so easily…

Gideon knew. He had demons of his own. And we would become the mirrors that reflected each other’s most private wounds… and desires.

The bonds of his love transformed me, even as I prayed that the torment of our pasts didn’t tear us apart…

my-thoughts_header

 

It’s the first book in the Crossfire series and did like it, and will continue with the series to find out more about Gideon’s past and how they manage to continue with their relationship while having difficult pasts. Some parts of the book made it hard to put the book down, but on the other hand some moments made me sigh and think how easily Eva took different situations.

Eva moves to New York to start working at an advertising agency and a day before her first work day she meets Gideon in the corridor of the same building, where they eventually start working, though in different departments. From the first contact there’s a sparkle between them. While Gideon is very wealthy, Eva has a comfortable background as well, which makes it more interesting rather than if the female protagonist was looking up to the wealthy lifestyle. The more they spend time together, the more they learnt about each other’s demons from the past, which doesn’t make their relationship development easier, but they know they can’t be without each other, and work on it, to not let the past ruin what they feel for each other.

The book was entertaining, but sometimes Eva’s behavior was annoying, when she always ran away, and also Gideon’s not being open enough with her, causing her feel betrayed, unhappy or jealous. Hopefully the second book will give more insight to the details that wasn’t mentioned in the first book, which I’m looking forward to.

 

Favorite quotes:

  •  “I’ve always seen you, angel. From the moment you found me, I’ve seen nothing but you.”
  • “I want there to be happily-ever-afters for the fucked-up crowd. Show me the way, Eva honey. Make me believe.”
  • “I must’ve wished for you so hard and so often you had no choice but to come true.”
  • “He was the kind of guy that made a woman want to rip his shirt open and watch the buttons scatter along with her inhibitions.”
Leave a Reply

